Dental Hygiene Advisory Committee

One of two statutory committees that provides assistance to the TSBDE is the Dental Hygiene Advisory Committee (DHAC) the other is the Dental Laboratory Certification Council (DLCC).  The DHAC advises the TSBDE on matters relating to dental hygiene. DHAC is composed of six members: Three dental hygienists and two public members appointed by the Governor and one dentist appointed by the TSBDE. Members of this advisory committee serve staggered six-year terms.  The law pertaining to the DHAC can be found in the Texas Occupations Code (Dental Practice Act) under Chapter 262, Subchapters B and C.  

Dental Hygiene Advisory Committee Members

Dale Hahn, R.D.H.
Ms. Hahn is a dental hygienist and instructor of dental hygiene at Wharton County Junior College. She is a member of the American Dental Hygienists' Association, Texas Dental Hygiene Educators' Association, and Bay Area Dental Hygienists' Society. She is also a member and past president of the Texas Dental Hygienists' Association and Texas Dental Hygiene Clinic Coordinators' Association, an advisor of the Wharton County Junior College Dental Hygiene Club, and former secretary and treasurer of the council of St. Luke Lutheran Church in Sweeny. Ms. Hahn received a bachelor's degree from the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio.  

Carolyn Jackson, R.D.H.
Ms. Jackson is a dental hygienist for a private general dentistry practice. She is a member of the American and Texas Dental Hygienists' associations, a chief examiner of the Western Regional Examining Board National Dental and Dental Hygiene Testing Agency, and chair of the John Wesley United Methodist Church Interfaith Hospitality Network.  Ms. Jackson received a bachelor's degree from The Ohio State University.

James W. Chancellor, D.D.S.
Dr. Chancellor, of Garden Ridge, graduated from Texas A&M University with a degree in Zoology in 1969.  He earned his Doctor of Dental Surgery from the University of Texas Dental Branch - Houston in 1971.  After serving in the U.S. Air Force for two years, he earned his Certificate in Anesthesiology from the University of Texas Medical Branch - Galveston in 1975.  Dr. Chancellor is in private practice and provides mobile anesthesia services for adult, pediatric and special needs patients in the San Antonio area. 

Diane L. McVeigh
Ms. McVeigh, from Harlingen, serves as a public member on the DHAC. Ms. McVeigh graduated from Chapman University in Sacramento, California, in 1990, with a degree in Health Science, graduated from Framingham State, in Framingham, Massachusettes, in 1992, then receiving her degree in Dental Hygiene from the University of Guam, in 1972.  Her term continues through 2017.

Christopher Covo 
Mr. Covo, of Austin, is director of special services for PJS of Texas, Inc, and serves as the director of business development for Edible San Antonio Magazine. He is the current community outreach committee chairman for the Building Owners and Managers Association of Austin. While at Texas State University, he served as a gubernatorial appointee as student regent. Covo earned a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and Music from Texas State University and a Master of Arts in Legal and Political Theory from the University College London.  Mr. Covo's term will expire on February 1, 2021.

Lorie Jones , R.D.H.
Ms. Jones, of Magnolia, is director of dental services at TOMAGWA Healthcare Ministries, and owner and consultant for Smiles for Schools Consulting. She also serves as adjunct professor for LoneStar College in Kingwood. She is a member of the American Dental Hygienist’s Association, Texas Dental Hygiene Educators Association, and past president of the Texas Dental Hygienists’ Association and the Greater Houston Dental Hygienist Society. Jones received Bachelor of Science in Dental Hygiene from the University of Texas at Houston and received a certification in Health Science Technology from ITeach Texas Alternative Certification Program.  Ms. Jones' term will expire on February 1, 2021.