Recent Rule Adoptions

 The Board voted to adopt the following new rule or rule amendments at the most recent Board Meeting.  Click on the link below to be redirected to the adopted rules, published in the Texas Register.   

Rule 101.1 General Qualifications for Licensure (DDS)

The Board amended rule §101.1 to eliminate the requirement for good moral character and to provide that an applicant for licensure who is in violation of a board order at the time of application is ineligible for licensure. Both changes are in accordance with Senate Bill 313 of the 85th Texas Legislature.

Rule 101.5 Staggered Dental Registrations

The Board amended rule §101.5 concerning staggered dental registrations. All of the Board’s licenses will now be renewed on a two-year cycle. An initial dental license registration period will range from 18 months to 30 months, to be determined by the licensee's birth month, and will be prorated according to the number of months of the initial license period. After the initial period, the license will be renewed every two years.

Rule 101.13 Military Limited Volunteer License (DDS)

The Board adopted new rule §101.13 concerning military limited volunteer licenses for dentists. The new rule defines the requirements for a dentist to obtain a military limited volunteer license. This license was created by House Bill 2007 from the 85th Texas Legislature.

Rule 102.1 Fee Schedule

The Board amended rule §102.1 concerning our fee schedule. The new rule shows the updated fee schedule that will become effective September 1, 2018. Both changes are in accordance with Senate Bill 313 of the 85th Texas Legislature.

Rule 103.1 General Qualifications for Licensure (RDH)

The Board amended rule §103.1 to eliminate the requirement for good moral character and to provide that an applicant for licensure who is currently in violation of a board order is ineligible for licensure.

Rule 103.5 Staggered Dental Hygiene Registrations

The Board amended rule §103.5 concerning staggered dental hygienist registrations. All of the Board’s licenses will now be renewed on a two-year cycle. An initial dental hygienist license registration period will range from 18 months to 30 months, to be determined by the licensee's birth month, and will be prorated according to the number of months of the initial license period. After the initial period, the license will be renewed every two years.

Rule 103.9 Military Limited Volunteer License (RDH)

The Board adopted new rule §103.9 concerning military limited volunteer licenses for dental hygienists. The new rule defines the requirements for a hygienist to obtain a military limited volunteer license. This license was created by House Bill 2007 from the 85th Texas Legislature.

Rule 104.1 Requirement

The Board amended rule §104.1 concerning continuing education requirements for dentists and dental hygienists. The amended rule defines the new CE requirements in light of going to biennial license renewals. Most requirements will simply double, except that self-study hours allowed will go from 6 to 8. Also, the jurisprudence assessment, which was previously required every 3 years, now must be completed every 4 years. The CE required for an initial license that is less than two years will be prorated accordingly. Licensees will be allowed to carry forward 24 hours obtained in the one year immediately preceding the renewal period.

Rule 107.52 Oral and Written Arguments

The Board amended rule §107.52 concerning oral and written arguments. The new rule states that the board will allow Respondents up to a 10 minute oral argument or up to a 10 page written argument concerning a proposal for decision (PFD) before the board.

Rule 107.104 Official Investigation of a Complaint

The Board amended rule 107.104 concerning the investigation of complaints. The new rule eliminates prior examples of cases that fall within each category and eliminates the requirement that changes to those categories be made by the dental director or the director of investigations. The new rule gives the agency more flexibility in handling complaints and investigations.

Rule 110.7 Portability

The Board amended rule §110.7 concerning portability. The new rule eliminates portability permits and requires that a dentist who applies for a sedation/anesthesia permit must include in the application a statement indicating whether the dentist provides or will provide a permitted sedation/anesthesia service in more than one location. This rule change is in accordance with Senate Bill 313 of the 85th Texas Legislature.

Rule 114.2 Registration of Dental Assistants

The Board adopted new rule §114.2 concerning registration of dental assistants. The new rule makes a number of changes to dental assistant registrations as allowed by Senate Bill 313 of the 85th Texas Legislature. As with all other licenses, dental assistant registrations will go to a two year cycle. Applicants will now be required to submit fingerprints, proof of completion of high-school or a high-school equivalency, and proof of completion of a hands-on basic life support course. RDAs will be allowed to carry forward 6 hours of continuing education from the previous renewal cycle. Applicants will be ineligible for licensure if they are in violation of a board order at the time of application.