How Do I Renew My RDA Registration/Certificate?

Renewal Requirements

Your Registered Dental Assistant (RDA) Certificate is valid for one year. If you do not pay your renewal fee by the expiration date listed on your certificate your RDA Certificate will expire or possibly cancel.

A RDA Certificate may renewed within 45 days of its expiration date.

RDA Certificate Statuses

Here is a brief list of RDA Certificate statuses:

  • Active Status – An RDA may legally make x-rays under the supervision of a Texas Licensed Dentist.
  • Expired Status – An RDA may not legally make x-rays. The RDA Certificate must be renewed within one year of the expiration date.
  • Cancelled Status – An RDA may not legally make x-rays. The RDA Certificate may not be renewed. The Dental Assistant must re-register for a new RDA Certificate Number with the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners (TSBDE). Instructions for reapplying for an RDA are available on this website.

What you need to Renew Online:

  • An active e-mail account.
  • Your RDA Registration Number.
  • Your Social Security Number.
  • Your Date of Birth.
  • Your Zip Code.

Steps to Renewing Online

  • You will need to create an online account before you renew your certificate. If you have already created an account, you need to log in to your account to renew your certificate.
  • If you have never renewed online before you must select the link “Add Licenses to Registration”.
  • If you have difficulty with making your payment online please contact Texas.gov at 1-800-399-2969.
Error Messages

Click here to read a list of common errors and who to contact for help.   If you receive an error message during your online session please contact the Health Professions Council Help Desk at: onlinehelp@hpc.state.tx.us.

Renew Online

 

Steps for Renewing By Mail

  • Download the RDA Renewal Form.
  • Mail your Renewal Form with your check or money order for the exact amount due to the TSBDE.
  • Incomplete renewal forms cannot be processed. You will be notified by e-mail, phone or U.S. Mail of any errors regarding your renewal.

Registered Dental Assistant Renewal Form

 

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Is there a grace period for renewing?  No. A penalty will be added to your renewal fee if you are 1-90 days past due. A second penalty will be added to your renewal fee if you are 91-365 days late. You may renew an RDA Certificate any time before the 365th day.
  • Can I renew online or by mail?  Yes. You may renew online or by mail. If you renew online do not renew by mail.
  • Do I have to complete Continuing Education before I renew my RDA?   After you renew your first RDA Certificate you should begin collecting Continuing Education hours. You must complete CE every year and it must be completed before you renew your certificate every year.
  • Does my CPR Card need to be Current to renew my RDA?  Yes. You must hold a current CPR Card before you renew your registration.
  • Can a Cancelled RDA Certificate be renewed?  No. You must reapply for a new RDA Certificate Number.