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TEXAS STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS
333 Guadalupe Street, Tower 3, Suite 800 

Austin, Texas 78701-3942 
Phone: (512) 463-6400 

Fax:  (512) 463-7452 
E-Mail:  info@tsbde.texas.gov 

Website:  www.tsbde.texas.gov 

p 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

I.   THE APPLICATION PROCESS - INSTRUCTIONS 
 The application, practice and renewal as a dental assistant is governed by the Texas Occupations Code (Dental Practice Act) Section 265, et. 

seq. and Texas State Board of Dental Examiners (TSBDE) Rules in Chapter 114, et. seq. 
 

1. All application fees are non-refundable.  Military Active Duty, Veterans and Military Active Duty Spouses do not pay an application fee 
however, they are required to provide a copy of their Military Orders or Military Identification Card or proof of Honorable or General 
Discharge. 

 

2. All documents and the fee are required to be submitted by you and should be mailed directly to: 
 

Texas State Board of Dental Examiners 
333 Guadalupe Street, Tower 3, Suite 800, Austin, TX 78701-3942 

 

3. Allow fourteen (14) business days for your information to be received and processed.  The use of Federal Express, United  Parcel Service 
(UPS) or other special courier services will not reduce the processing time.  Additionally, if  special courier services are used, you are 
responsible for contacting the courier to confirm delivery of your package to the TSBDE. 

 

4. If your application is not complete upon receipt by the TSBDE Licensing Division, a deficiency letter will be sent to you along with the 
return of your application.   

 

5. If you change your mailing address, you should notify the TSBDE, in writing, either by mail, e-mail or by fax within 60 days.  Failure to 
notify the TSBDE may impact your certificate, since failure to receive your renewal notification does not relieve you of the responsibility for 
timely renewal. 

 

6. ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS ON THE APPLICATION.  DO NOT LEAVE ANY AREA BLANK.   
 

II. THE QUALIFICATION PROCESS   
A checklist on Page 2 in this application provides detailed instructions on submitting proof of course completion and work experience. 

  1.  Pay the application fee;  

   2.  Provide proof of the following:  

     (A)  At least two years of experience as a dental assistant;  

     (B)  Successful completion of a current course in basic life support; and,  

     (C)  Successful completion of a minimum of 8 hours of clinical and didactic education in pit and fissure sealants taken through a CODA-
accredited dental hygiene or dental assisting program approved by the TSBDE whose course of instruction includes:  

        (i)  infection control;  
        (ii)  cardiopulmonary resuscitation;  
        (iii)  treatment of medical emergencies;  
        (iv) microbiology;  
       (v)  chemistry;  
        (vi)  dental anatomy;  
        (vii)  ethics related to pit and fissure sealants;  
        (viii)   jurisprudence related to pit and fissure sealants; and  
        (ix)  the correct application of sealants, including the actual clinical application of sealants. 
 3.  National Practitioner Database Self-Query Report. 
 4.  American Association of Dental Boards Self-Query Report. 
 5.  Hold a current Basic Life Support (BLS) CPR Certification. 

III.  SELF-QUERY REPORT REQUIREMENT   

1.  Complete a National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) Self-Query Report.   

Instructions - NPDB Self-Query Report:  All applicants are required to complete a self-query of the NPDB.  The report results must 
remain in the original sealed envelope and be attached to your application to the TSBDE.  NPDB self-query reports are valid for 30 
days. NPDB charges a minimal fee to furnish this information. You can contact the NPDB at Post Office Box 10832, Chantilly, VA 
22021, telephone number (800) 767-6732, or website at:  http://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/pract/howToGetStarted.jsp.  

 
2.  Complete a American Association of Dental Boards (AADB) Self-Query Report.   

Instructions - AADB Self-Query Report:  All applicants are required to complete a self-query to the AADB Clearinghouse.  The report 
results must remain in the original sealed envelope and be attached to your application to the TSBDE.   AADB charges a minimal fee to 
furnish this information.  The AADB self-query form should be mailed to: American Association of Dental Boards, 211 East Chicago 
Avenue, Suite 760, Chicago, IL 60611.  The AADB telephone number is (312) 440-7464.  The AADB self-query form can be 
downloaded from the AADB website at:  https://www.dentalboards.org/ClearinghouseQueryForm.htm.  

PIT AND FISSURE SEALANT CERTIFICATE 
APPLICATION AND INSTRUCTIONS 
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Pit and Fissure Sealant Certificate Application (Continued) 

 

IV.   ORDERING DUPLICATE CERTIFICATES 
An original certificate must be displayed where services are provided.   
To order a duplicate certificate, complete a Duplicate Certificate Request Form and mail it to the TSBDE along with your non-
refundable fee.  This form is available on the TSBDE Website at www.tsbde.texas.gov. 

 
 
V.  NAME CHANGE REQUEST 

A name change can only be made by mail.  To make a name change, fill out and mail a Dental Assistant Name Change Request 
Form along with your non-refundable fee to the TSBDE.  All forms and applications are available on the TSBDE Website at 
www.tsbde.texas.gov    

 

 
VI. CHECKLIST -  Use to complete your application.  

 Note:  Your application must be dated and received within 12 months of receipt by the TSBDE or it will be rejected. 
 

  DONE 
 
1. Complete all sections of the application.   _____ 
 
2. Application Fee of $30.00. 
 

3. Submit letters, preferably on letterhead, from current or former employers showing proof that you have at least two total _____ 
 years of Dental Assistant work experience. Letters must identify the dental professional(s) you are/were employed with. 
 

4. Copy the front and back of your current CPR card on a full-sized sheet of paper.  CPR certification in Basic Life Support _____ 
 must comply with the TSBDE Policy:  CPR training must include a written assessment and a demonstration of skills by  
 the applicant. Computer and video-based CPR training courses given by an instructor that include training taken by the  
 applicant on a hands-on practice manikin and a written assessment of skills are acceptable. Online courses that do not  
 include a hands-on training by the applicant or a written assessment of skills are not acceptable. 
 

5. Copy the front of your Social Security Card on a full-sized sheet of paper.  If you do not have a copy of your card, you may _____ 
 submit a copy of the letter issued from the Social Security Administration showing proof a Social Security Number has  
 been issued to you in lieu of sending a copy of your Social Security Card.  To obtain a Social Security Number visit:  

www.socialsecurity.gov/ssnumber 
 

6. Copy of your Certificate of Completion showing proof of successful completion of a Pit and Fissure Sealant  _____ 
 Course approved by the SBDE and offered by a Dental Hygiene or Dental Assisting Program Accredited by  
 the Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) of the American Dental Association.  
 

7.   Attach the sealed envelope containing your NPDB Self-Query Report results to your application.  _____ 
 

8.   Attach the sealed envelope containing your AADB Self-Query Report results to your application. _____ 
 
9. If you answer “Yes” to either question asked in the “Background Information” Section of the application you must _____ 
 submit with the application a letter of explanation and provide certified copies of court documents concerning  
 each conviction or deferred adjudication.  
 

10. Enclose your payment made payable to the “Texas State Board of Dental Examiners”.  Military Active Duty, Veterans _____ 
 or Military Active Duty Spouses are not required to pay an application fee. 
 

11. Military Active Duty, Veterans, and Military Active Duty Spouses must provide a copy of their Military Orders or Military I.D. _____ 
 Card or a document showing proof of Honorable or General Discharge. 
 

12. Sign your application in the presence of a Notary Public.  A Notary Public needs to witness and verify your signature _____ 
 then sign and stamp your application.  Notary services are often available, for a fee, at some banks, postal and courier  
 facilities, copy centers, and at city, county, state and federal offices. 
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TEXAS STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS
333 Guadalupe, Tower 3, Suite 800 

Austin, Texas 78701-3942 

Website:  www.tsbde.texas.gov 

  
 

 
 

 

 
 

1.  PRESENT LEGAL NAME: 
 

  _________________________________________     _____________________________________      ______________________________________ 
First Name                               Middle Name                Last Name   
 

Registered Dental Assistant  
 (RDA) Number:    _______________________________________________________________________ 
 (Leave Blank if you do not have an RDA #) ____________________________   Other Last Names (If Used)  
  

   E-Mail Address:  ________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 2.  DATE OF BIRTH:     3.  SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER*: 4.  TELEPHONE NUMBER: 
 
 

                    |                    |        
        DD     MM       YYYY   (AREA CODE) NUMBER 

* -  The TSBDE requires an applicant to provide a SSN as a part of the licensure, certification or registration process.  The SSN of an applicant for a license, certificate, 
or registration or other legal authorization issued by the TSBDE is confidential and not subject to disclosure under Chapter 552 of the Texas Government Code.   

5.  MAILING ADDRESS: 
 

 ____________________________________________________     ________________________________________     ______________   _____________ 
 NUMBER AND STREET                              CITY                                               STATE                       ZIP CODE 
 

6.  MILITARY STATUS:  (Check One)   

If you are military, include a copy of one of the following: Copy of Military Orders, I.D. Card or proof of Honorable or General Discharge. 
 
 _____ Not Military ______ Active Duty Military ______ Veteran _______ Active Duty Military Spouse 
 

7.  PRIMARY EMPLOYER INFORMATION:   (LEAVE BLANK IF NOT CURRENTLY EMPLOYED) 
 

 _____________________________________________________       _____________         __________________________  

 Dentist Name      Area Code  Telephone Number 
  
 _____________________________________________________    _______________________________________     ______________   _____________ 

 Number and Street                               City                                                State                     Zip Code 
 

  

 

 

APPLICATION FEE   $30.00 
MILITARY ACTIVE DUTY, VETERANS, MILITARY ACTIVE DUTY SPOUSES:  NO FEE 

PERSONAL CHECK OR MONEY ORDER ACCEPTED 

Pit and Fissure Sealant Certificate Application 

8.  BACKGROUND INFORMATION:   
If you answer YES to any question below you must write a letter of explanation and provide certified copies of official court documents concerning 
each conviction or deferred adjudication. 

____ Yes   ____ No     Been chronically or habitually intoxicated or addicted to intoxicants, drugs, or controlled substances? 
 

 ____ Yes   ____ No     Have you received a deferred adjudication, been arrested, or been convicted of a felony within the past five (5) years or been 
convicted of a misdemeanor within the last two (2) years? 

9.  SELF-QUERY REPORT RESULTS:   
 

____ Yes   ____ No    I have attached the sealed envelopes containing my AADB and NPDB Self-Query Report results to this application? 

10.  ATTESTATION AND NOTARY PUBLIC VERIFICATION:   

By my signature below, I am stating that: 
 a.   All information provided to the State Board of Dental Examinations in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. 
 b. I may only apply Pit and Fissure Sealants following delegation by a licensed Texas Dentist. 

 c. If I apply pit and fissure sealants outside of these parameters, I am in violation of the Dental Practice Act and will be held accountable by the TSBDE. 
 
 

       ______________________________________________________________   _______________________________ 
   APPLICANT SIGNATURE  (Sign this application in the presence of a Notary Public)                 DATE 
 

  State of  ____________________ 
 

 County of  __________________ 
 

 Before me, the undersigned authority, on this day personally appeared the applicant whose signature appears above and who being by me sworn 
 upon oath says that all the facts, statements and answers contained in this application are true and correct. 

 

 Sworn and subscribed to before me, the said ___________________________________________________  appeared on this the ___________ day  

 of __________________________, 20 _______, to certify which witness my hand and seal of office.     

 ________________________________________________ 
     (SEAL)        NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE  

FOR STAFF USE ONLY: 


